Established in 1990, the Regents Award honors tenured faculty members with distinguished records of achievement. Recipients must have a sustained record of excellence across the spectrum of faculty endeavors (teaching, scholarship, service) or such outstanding accomplishments in one or more of the areas as to justify their selection. CCOM nominees are reviewed by the Faculty Senate and Faculty Council. The Council submits names to the Provost for concurrence, and recipients are affirmed by the Board of Regents.


Year Presented Awardee Department
2014 Charles M. Brenner, Ph.D. Biochemistry
2014 Mary E. Wilson, M.D. Internal Medicine
2013 Gary E. Rosenthal, M.D. Internal Medicine
2013 Curt D. Sigmund, Ph.D. Pharmacology
2012 Wallace L. Alward, M.D. Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
2012 Donald W. Black, M.D. Psychiatry
2011 Michael B. Cohen, M.D. Pathology
2010 Sarah K. England, Ph.D. Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
2010 Satish S.C. Rao, M.D., Ph.D. Internal Medicine
2009 William H. Coryell, M.D. Psychiatry
2009 Daniel Tranel, Ph.D. Neurology
2008 Pamela K. Geyer, Ph.D. Biochemistry
2008 Jane S. Paulsen, Ph.D. Psychiatry
2007 Beverly L. Davidson, Ph.D. Internal Medicine
2006 Dennis C. Harper, Ph.D. Pediatrics
2005 Raymond Crowe, M.D. Psychiatry
2005 Ronald Lauer, M.D. Pediatrics
2004 Georges
El-Khoury, M.D.
2003 Lawrence Hunsicker, M.D. Internal Medicine
2002 Peter Rubenstein, Ph.D. Biochemistry
2001 Gary Hunninghake, M.D. Internal Medicine
2001 Jeffrey Pessin, M.D. Physiology
2000 Stuart Weinstein, M.D. Orthopaedic Surgery
1999 Michael J. Welsh, M.D. Internal Medicine
1999 Robert F. Woolson, Ph.D. Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health
1998 Nancy C. Andreasen, M.D. Psychiatry
1998 Joseph Buckwalter, M.D. Orthopaedic Surgery
1998 Gerald F. DiBona, M.D. Internal Medicine
1997 Adel K. Afifi, M.D. Pediatrics, Neurology, and Anatomy
February 1996 Harold P. Adams, M.D. Neurology
February 1995 Donald D. Heistad, M.D. Internal Medicine
January 1994 George A.B. Winokur, M.D. Psychiatry
January 1994 Richard P. Wenzel, M.D. Internal Medicine
January 1993 Robert S. Bar, M.D. Internal Medicine
January 1993 Arthur A. Spector, M.D. Biochemistry
1991 Kevin Campbell, Ph.D. Physiology