Find a Pathologist | Our Services | Contact Us | About UIDL

Hematopathology Consultation Service
Nancy Rosenthal, MD, Director
                                     
A national anatomic and clinical pathology reference laboratory
affiliated with UI Health Care


Hematopathology

The Hematopathology Service focuses on the diagnosis of hematolymphoid disorders from the bone marrow, lymph nodes, and other lymphoid tissues. In addition to a comprehensive morphologic interpretation ancillary studies are available to support diagnostic interpretations. These include Immunohistochemistry, 10 Color Flow Cytometry, Cytogenetics, and Molecular Pathology.

Under the direction of Nancy Rosenthal, MD, the service has seven very experienced hematopathologists. There are approximately 1800 specimens processed per year with approximately 600 solid lymphoid tissues and 1200 bone marrow specimens.  The pathologists work closely with consulting pathologists and oncologists to orchestrate the necessary diagnostic procedures, and integrate the information generated for a comprehensive diagnosis.
Turnaround Time: Routine time frame for turnaround is 2-5 days.
In many cases a preliminary result can be given on the day the specimen arrives.

Weekend and Holiday STAT service available as needed
Lab Hours: Routine testing is available 8:00 – 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday.


Consultants:
Nancy Rosenthal, MD
Director
319-356-3059
nancy-rosenthal@uiowa.edu

Carol Holman, MD, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
319-356-3981
carol-holman@uiowa.edu

Nitin J. Karandikar, MD, PhD
Professor
319-384-9609
nitin-karandikar@uiowa.edu
John D. Kemp, MD
Professor
319-384-9611
john-kemp@uiowa.edu

Prerna Rastogi, MD, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor
319-356-3781
prerna-rastogi@uiowa.edu

Sergei Syrbu, MD, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
319-356-7372
sergei-syrbu@uiowa.edu

Chen Zhao, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
319-384-4668
chen-zhao@uiowa.edu
 








UIDL Home
Client Services
Our Services

Hematopathology Home

Bone Marrow

Flow Cytometry

Lymph Nodes and Related Specimens

Molecular Pathology

Related Links


Department of Pathology